Hermanos Cubanos, 257 Seaview Rd, HENLEY BEACH.

IMG_4063

With the brand spanking Henley Square to suss, what better time to head to Henley for a tasty bite? We’d heard some positive whispers about a new(ish) Cuban sandwich joint right next to the square so we decided to hightail it down there and have a taste for ourselves.

Hermanos Cubanos is a bright and cheery nook filled with Cuban character. This place is super inviting however the invitation only extends to about 5 people as the ‘dine-in’ capacity is teensy-weensy. If the five seats are ocupado then it’s outside for you dear friends, which is no problem at all if the weather is on your side.

IMG_4049

The menu is a goodie with a solid selection of about 8 or so sangas and plenty of sides including hand-cut chips (AKA bae), Caribbean prawns and jalapeno poppers. They also offer a frank dog, which was bloody tempting, but as first-timers we decided to start at the very beginning, which Maria tells me is ‘a very good place to start’. #soundofmusic4lyfe

IMG_4066

I went with the numero uno menu item being the Hermano, a sandwich filled with jerk chicken, avocado salsa criolla, swiss cheese and chipotle aioli. This bad boy was bursting with fresh ingredients however we thought the jerk chicken flavour should have had a bit more POW.

IMG_4059

Next up we gobbled down the Espanola with chorizo, smoked leg ham, roasted capsicum, manchego cheese and onion chutney. I’m a sucker for chorizo so I really enjoyed this bite. In fact, if I had to choose between a lifetime supply of chorizo or spending a night with Stefan Salvatore it would be chorizo, every…damn… time.

IMG_4055

If there are hand-cut chips on a menu there’s no question whether I will be ordering them. These were a total pleasure however I think the oil could have been a little hotter to get that crunch factor I love so much.

To summarise this quick review oh so eloquently, this place was solid. Like, I’m not currently lacing up my sneakers so I can run back there but it was a satisfying and quick bite, perfect for when you are catching some rays down Henley way.

Until next time… That’s what she said.

Hermanos Cubanos Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 responses

  1. Hi I actually tried your beer buttered fish and chips and I’m sorry to say they are very oily. Plus your service is very slow. Won’t be coming back there again.

    Like

Leave a comment